Join us on our Facebook group for a Book Study of Women Who Run with the Wolves By Clarissa Pinkola Estes, PhD, Jungian Analyst and Storyteller Extraordinaire.

We have so far gone over the first three chapters of the book.

CHAPTER ONE La Loba:The bones represent the indestructible forces of life that when put in the right context will help to inspire you and make you come alive.”


Chapter One is saying that there are certain things in your life you must find in order to inspire you … in order to ‘come alive.’

Step outside of the ‘norm’, the expected. Be You. Be Wild.

Find the Bones and start building your Wild Woman.

Begin to Sing.

CHAPTER TWO BlueBeard:  Bluebeard is the ‘cutting floor’. What in your life needs to go? Asking yourself the vital questions:


What stands behind the door of my self-destruction and deadness?
What is not as it appears?
What do I know deep in my ovarios that I wish I did not know?
What of me has been killed or lays dying?

‘As long as a woman is forced into believing she is powerless and/or is trained to not consciously register what she knows to be true, the feminine impulses and gifts of her psyche continue to be killed off.’

Taking Actions against the Predators in your Life.

CHAPTER THREE Vasalisa and the Retrieval of Intuition.


Stepping into a new way of living.

The ‘Fiery Skull’ representing taking back your personal power, intuition and wise knowing.

‘It means meeting one’s own numinosity without fleeing, actively living with the wild nature in one’s own way. It means to be able to learn, to be able to stand what we know. It means to stand and live.’

Vasalisa starts off as ‘too normal’ and flattened. A routine life neglecting her intuition.

We must do something! She is to be tested …

Baba Yaga represents the power of annihilation and the power of the life force at the same time – the BIRTH/DEATH/BIRTH cycle. She does not hurt Vasalisa as long as Vasalisa gives her respect.

The Nine Tasks Involved: Allowing the Too-Good Mother to Die, Exposing the Crude Shadow, Navigating in the Dark, Facing the Wild Hag, Serving the Non-Rational, Separating This from That, Asking the Mysteries, Standing on All Fours and Recasting the Shadow.

On to Chapter Four: The Mate Union with Other

Join us on our Facebook Group here: